The BERTEBOS prize

The Foundation has instituted two different BERTEBOS Prizes. In 1996 the Prize awarded by the ROYAL ACADEMY OF AGRICULTURE AND FORESTRY, Kungliga Skogs- och Lantbruksakademien (KSLA), was founded and in 2007 an other Prize was instituted, awarded by the Halland Academy.

The BERTEBOS Prize in co-operation with the KSLA

The BERTEBOS prize was instituted in 1996. It is distributed by the ROYAL ACADEMY OF AGRICULTURE AND FORESTRY for highly qualified, pioneering development methods referring to food, agriculture, animal health or ecology. The prize is distributed every second year.

The ROYAL ACADEMY OF AGRICULTURE AND FORESTRY has been asked to appoint the prize-winner and the prize is handed over at a ceremony on the 28th January every year, on the name-day of the King, Karl. The prize amounts to 300,000 SEK and the persons handing over the prize have been, so far, King Carl XVI Gustav, Crown Princess Viktoria, Princess Lilian and Princess Christina.

Prize winner 2020

Dr. Peter Roeder, Bordon, UK
"For his outstanding achievements to develop and improve the control of Transboundary Animal Diseases (TAD) and ”new” diseases around the world. Thanks to his efforts on several continents, he has an outstanding experience in epidemiology, diagnosis and control of TAD."

Peter Roeder is a veterinarian with broad experience of disease epidemiology, diagnosis and control. In particular he has developed specialist expertise and extensive practical experience of disciplines relating to the control of infectious and especially epidemic and zoonotic diseases. He has lived and worked on long term assignments for 12 years in developing countries in Africa and Asia.

Peter Roeder was awarded a PhD degree in 1994 and was seconded to the Australian Animal Health Laboratory to work on developing diagnostic tests for foot-and-mouth disease which are still the mainstay today.

The BERTEBOS Prize in co-operation with the Halland Academy

The BERTEBOS Prizes  in co-operation with the Halland Academy were instituted in 2007. They are distributed by the Halland Academy to persons, associations or institutions found to have a potential for performing commendable contributions to the future of the food sector in Halland. From 2015, the Halland Academy shares a prize of SEK 50 000 against the previous two prizes of SEK 25 000 each. The award ceremony takes place in connection with with the Halland Academy's celebration ceremony.

Prize winner 2019

Per Carlsson och Catarina Arvidsson, Steninge kuststation
They awarded the prize for the "with oatmeal-class has highlighted and made visible a classic Halland raw material, corn. In Steningehöjden the Kattegat route, they have created a haven for visitors, Alf Hambe country ".